The department of Microbiology provides diagnostic, research and teaching facilities.

The laboratory under the Integrated Disease Surveillance Project (IDSP) is providing services for 7 sections. The Bacteriology tests include Culture and Sensitivity testing and Microscopy facility for routine samples.

ELISA testing for Dengue, Chikungunya, Scrub Typhus, other hepatitis viruses are being done. For COVID-19 testing TrueNat, ID NOW and RAT service are available. The process for establishing RTPCR testing facility is under process.

There is a separate tuberculosis section under the RNTCP for detection of tuberculosis having Fluorescent Microscopy, GENEXPERT and CBNAAT. The serology tests include Rapid tests.

The EQAS programme in Bacteriology is in place. Standard Operating Procedures for every laboratory procedure have been prepared

The department monitors hospital acquired infections and plays an important role in infection control and biomedical waste management.


Designation Name of the faculty members
Associate Professor Dr. Sonia Mehta
Senior Resident Dr. Shiwani Sharma


Designation Name of the members
Technical staff Ms. Deepika
Technical staff Ms. Parminder Kaur
Technical staff(Covid Duties) Ms.Anita
Technical staff(Covid Duties) Mr. Sukhdev Singh
Technical staff(Covid Duties) Ms. Sarbjot Kaur
Technical staff(Covid Duties) Ms.Amanjot Kaur
Technical staff(Covid Duties) Ms.Neeraj
Technical staff(Covid Duties) Ms.Sonali
Laboratory attendants Mr. Sultan Mohammad
Attendant Mr. Arvind Kumar