The department is providing outdoor, indoor and 24 hour emergency services in the MCH wing alongwith medical specialists of District hospital phase 6, Mohali. Daily outpatient department attendance ranges from 150-250. Gynecology clinic, Antenatal clinic, Postpartum clinic and family welfare clinic are running daily. Obstetric and Gynecology ultrasound services have been started. The department plans to start High-Risk Pregnancy clinic, Cancer screening clinic, Menopause clinic and Infertility clinic services. The number of deliveries at present are 350-450 per month. The average bed occupancy is 80-100%. COVID-19 positive patients deliveries are also conducted as it is declared as a dedicated COVID-19 center. The center receives 100-150 referral cases in the labor room every month. The department provides comprehensive abortion care services for termination of pregnancy in first and second trimester by both medical and surgical methods and sterilization. To excel in managing high-risk pregnancies and deliveries, the department plans to develop Obstetric HDU in the near future. There are two operation theatres, where all major and minor gynecologic surgeries are being done. Efforts are on to commence minimally invasive surgeries. The motto is to provide evidence based care to the patients and wish to be a model of excellence in imparting medical education and doing scientific research.


Designation Name of the faculty members
Professor Dr. Sushmita Sharma
Associate Professor Dr. Shikha Rani
Assistant Professor Dr. Japleen Kaur
Assistant Professor Dr. Nisha Bhagat
Senior Resident Dr. Renuka Jindal
Senior Resident Dr. Pooja Rani
Junior Resident Dr. Saroj
Junior Resident Dr. Rachanpreet Kaur
Junior Resident Dr. Harsharanjit Kaur
Junior Resident Dr. Harleen Kaur


Designation Name of the members
Technical assistant Ms Rinku
Technicians Miss Neha Gore
Technicians Miss Alka
Laboratory attendants Ms. Priyanka
Laboratory attendants Ms. Meenakshi
Laboratory attendants Ms. Manpreet
Stenographer Mrs Sarita
Record clerk Mrs Gursharan
Social workers Mr Rajbinder
Social workers Miss Manpreet Kaur